Clemensen Named NCFC Director of the Year

Hal Clemensen, President of Wheat Growers Board of Directors has been awarded the prestigious Director of the Year award by the National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (NCFC). Wheat Growers is a member of NCFC. The award was presented at NCFC’s annual meeting February 11, in Phoenix, Arizona.

“I’m very honored and humbled by this national honor,” Clemensen says. “I appreciate the fact that I have a great board and management team to work with. I consider this award to be as much for them as it is for me. It’s great for Wheat Growers on a national level, good for our board to show that our directors are on par with any national co-op director in the country.”

Clemensen has served on the Wheat Growers Board for 20 years, including 12 years as Board President. He and his wife Terri are a third-generation farm family, farming 3,000 acres of corn, soybeans and wheat near Conde, South Dakota.

“The entire Wheat Growers team is very proud that Hal was honored as NCFC’s Director of the Year,” Dale Locken, Wheat Growers CEO, says. “This award is recognition of the vital leadership role he has played, and continues to play, in the development and ongoing growth of our cooperative.”

The Farmer Cooperative Director of the Year Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of a farmer cooperative director who takes the lead to help their board of directors make decisions vital to their cooperative. In selecting the winners, judges looked at four broad criteria: how well the nominee understands his cooperative; the ability to provide leadership and be a team player; the possession of good business judgment; and the ability to communicate effectively.

To honor the award winner, the NCFC Foundation provides a $5,000 donation to the scholarship fund of a land grant university chosen by the winner. Clemensen’s donation will to go to South Dakota State University.

NCFC is the voice of America’s farmer cooperatives. Members are regional and national farmer cooperatives, which in turn are composed of nearly 3,000 local farmer cooperatives across the country. NCFC members also include 26 state and regional councils of cooperatives.